Picked, that is. So far this year I’ve picked 15 oz of spinach, and 2 oz of broccoli florets.

I probably (read: definitely) could’ve had more broccoli (and will, since I have plants growing) but…I’ve never grown broccoli before, and thought I had done it wrong because the plants didn’t make big huge heads like you see at the store. And I did have a few plants button…

Anyway, the other night I was watching Homegrown Revolution, the short film about the Dervaes family, and I saw one of them basically harvesting florets off the broccoli plants, and a light bulb went off over my head. Sometimes I’m kind of slow, I guess. But there are worse ways to be, so I’m okay with that.

The goal for this year, though, is 500 lbs of produce. I seriously doubt I’ll make it, but I’m going to give it a try. I originally had planned the goal to be growing and preserving a year’s worth of one thing (at least) but then realized that I could plant one okra plant, for example, harvest one pod, and call that good. (We don’t like okra much around here.) So the husband suggested 500 lbs for a goal and much to his surprise, I embraced it.

Hey, if you’re going to dream, dream big; right? So here I am, only 498 lbs, 15 oz to go. Here’s to a good year!

